December 16, 2009

Tony Toni Tone - Sons Of Soul

Tony! Toni! Toné! is an American new jack swing/R&B group from Oakland, California, popular during the late 1980s and early to mid 1990s. During the band's heyday, it was composed of D'wayne Wiggins on lead vocals and guitar, his brother Raphael Saadiq (born Charlie Ray Wiggins) on lead vocals and bass, and their cousin Timothy Christian Riley on drums. Other members were Elijah Baker, Carl Wheeler, Randall Wiggins, and Amar Khalil, who is the current lead singer of the group, and Antron Haile. The group's name is derived from Andy García's portrayal of an Italian American sharpshooter in The Untouchables. They released their third studio album to date, Sons of Soul, in 1993. The album went double platinum and had hit singles "If I had No Loot" which hit #7 on the Hot 100, "Anniversary" which reached #10 on the Hot 100, and "(Lay Your Head On My) Pillow" which reached #4 on the R&B charts.

1. If I Had No Loot 4:01
2. What Goes Around Comes Around 4:33
3. My Ex-Girlfriend 4:52
4. Tell Me Mama 4:17
5. Leavin' 5:15
6. Slow Wine (Slow Grind) 4:49
7. (Lay Your Head On My) Pillow 6:12
8. I Couldn't Keep It To Myself 5:18
9. Gangsta Groove 5:03
10. Tonyies! In The Wrong Key 4:04
11. Dance Hall 4:25
12. Time Square 2:30 A.M. (Segue) 0:33
13. Fun 5:16
14. Anniversary 9:23
15. Castleers 1:18

Hi Five - Keep It Goin On

Hi-Five's second LP, Keep It Goin' On, came out in 1992. Though not as successful as their debut effort, several tracks from this album, including "She's Playing Hard To Get" and the R. Kelly-penned "Quality Time" got major airplay. Shortly after this album was released, Roderick "Pooh" Clark was involved in a near-fatal automobile accident. In 1993, Hi-Five emerged with a third album, Faithful, which featured the songs "Unconditional Love" and "Never Should've Let You Go"

1. She's Playing Hard To Get 4:37
2. Quality Time 4:42
3. She Said 4:58
4. Fly Away 5:39
5. A Little Bit Older Now 4:45
6. Mary, Mary 4:16
7. Let's Get It Started (Keep It Goin' On) 4:03
8. Video Girl 4:12
9. Whenever You Say

Brian Mcknight - The Best Of

McKnight's musical career began with a musical childhood, in which he played a member of a Seventh-day Adventist Church choir. Encouraged by his older brother Claude's band, Take 6, getting a record deal, McKnight sent out demo tapes and, at the age of 19, signed his first recording deal with Mercury Records subsidiary Wing Records. However, he ended up recording his albums for Mercury, released his first album, Brian McKnight, in 1992. He went on to release three more albums for Mercury records before moving to Motown Records. His final album with Mercury Records, Anytime sold over two million copies and was nominated for a Grammy.

1. The Way Love Goes
2. One Last Cry
3. I'll Take Her (Radio Version)
4. Crazy Love
5. Anytime
6. You Should Be Mine (Don't Waste Your Time) (Radio Version)
7. The Only One For Me
8. Back At One
9. Win (From 'Men Of Honor')
10. Love Of My Life

July 29, 2009

Kaylan - Rock Me All Night

Mauritius born brothers Dennis and Darren emerged in 2000 as Warner Music Australia signed R&B duo Kaylan. With a sound unique to Australian culture the album went mostly under appreciated. The boys then formed the dance music duo Disco Montego a year later releasing their debut album of the same name. The Dowlut brothers ran Bomb Music with partner George Said and were developing the career of Jeremy Gregory who was signed to Warner Music in the US. The group remixed a Mariah Carey track Boy (I Need You) from her 2002 album Charmbracelet after Carey was aware of their Australian success. Disco Montego were planning to relocate in 2005 to Los Angeles to take advantage of their success. However, their relocation plans had to be shelved when Darren Dowlut was diagnosed with cancer. Darren Dowlut died of chest cancer aged 26. Mariah Carey was among the performers who sent condolences.

01 Radio Edit
02 Extended Mix

The Tony Rich Project - Nobody Knows

Rich first attracted attention as a staff writer at LaFace Records, where he wrote songs for recording artists including Boyz II Men, Johnny Gill, TLC, and Toni Braxton. Later, Rich mixed elements of jazz, rock and soul music into his own tracks. In late 1995 Rich released the hit single, "Nobody Knows" which made it to number 2 on the Billboard Hot 100. Under the moniker "The Tony Rich Project", he released his debut album Words in early 1996. Both the album and single went platinum and in 1997, Rich won a Grammy Award for the Best R&B Album. The song was covered by country music artist Kevin Sharp in 1997, also as his debut single. The song "Like a Woman" was also nominated for a Grammy Award.

01 Radio Edit
02 Untouchable Flava Edit

July 28, 2009

Mya ft BlackStreet, Blinky Blink & Mase - Take Me There Remixs

"Take Me There" is a song by Blackstreet, Mýa, Mase, and Blinky Blink. The song is featured on the soundtrack to The Rugrats Movie and on Blackstreet's album Finally (the latter presented in a remix). It features the famous Rugrats theme melody set against a laid-back cheerful R&B/Rap beat. The recording was a number 7 hit in the UK[1], and reached number 14 in the US.

01 I Want U Back Remix
02 Radio Version
03 Album Version
04 Instrumental

Jimmy Cliff - Cliff Hanger

Jimmy Cliff (born James Chambers, 1 April 1948, Somerton District, St. James, Jamaica is a Jamaican ska and reggae singer, musician and actor. He is the only currently living musician to hold the Order of Merit, the highest possible honour that can be granted by the Jamaican government for achievement in the arts and sciences. He is best known among mainstream audiences for songs such as "Sittin' in Limbo", "You Can Get It If You Really Want", "Many Rivers to Cross" from the soundtrack to The Harder They Come which helped popularize reggae across the world his cover of Cat Stevens' "Wild World" and Johnny Nash's "I Can See Clearly Now" from the film, Cool Runnings. Outside of the reggae world, he is probably best known for his film appearance in The Harder They Come. Even after a string of hits, the singer has never quite managed to achieve mainstream acceptance, although in the late 1960s and early 1970s, he seemed poised for international stardom.During the 1981 River Tour, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band added Cliff's little-known song "Trapped" to their live set; it achieved great prominence when included on 1985's We Are the World benefit album). The follow-up, Cliff Hanger (1985) won a Grammy Award for 'Best Reggae Album', though it was his last major success in the U.S. until 1993.

1- Hitting With Music
2- American Sweet
3- Arrival
4 Brown Eyes
5- Reggae Street
6- Hot Shot
7- Sunrise
8- Dead And Awake
9- Now And Forever
10- Nuclear War