September 12, 2008

Candy Man - Aint No Shame In My Game

When a rapper does well in the R&B or pop markets, hip-hop's hardcore tends to view the artist with suspicion, however strong his or her rapping skills might be. That was exactly what happened to Candyman when "Knockin' Boots" (a catchy single that sampled Betty Wright's "Tonight Is the Night") enjoyed considerable crossover action. Some hardcore rappers questioned Candyman's legitimacy, but make no mistake: Ain't No Shame in My Game proves that the Angeleno's rapping skills are solid. While this decent debut album has its share of lighthearted R&B-flavored fare (including "Playin' on Me," "Melt in Your Mouth," and of course, "Knockin' Boots"), more aggressive, in-your-face tunes like "Today's Topic," "5 Verses of Def," and "The Mack Is Back" demonstrate that Candyman has no problem handling hardcore b-boy rap. The overall result is a generally likable, if a bit uneven, album. Alex Henderson
1. aint no SHAME in the GAME
2. CANDYman
3. dont LEAVE HOME without it
4. KNOCKIN boots
5. MELT IN your mouth
6. playin ON ME
7. TODAYS topic
8. the mack IS BACK
9. NIGHT gown
10. who shakes THE BEST
11. keep on WATCA DOIN
12. 5 verses OF DEATH
Click HERE To Download Album

No comments: