September 12, 2008

OST Players Club

The soundtrack to Ice Cube's directorial debut, The Players Club (a Cube-written drama about a young woman trying to complete college by stripping in a "gentlemen's club"), was the first release on his Heavyweight Records label, a subsidiary of A&M Records. Appropriately, the album has all the makings of a big deal, featuring a terrific single from Cube, "We Be Clubbin'," plus new tracks from Brownstone, Mia X, K-Ci & Jo-Jo, Changing Faces, Kurupt, Rufus Blaq featuring Spinderella, and a duet between Master P and Ice Cube, as well as Cube working with Scarface and Mack 10. If you're familiar with the names, you'll realize that many of the cuts on the album were made in collaboration with soldiers of Master P's No Limit army, and all of The Players Club has a bass-heavy, deep groove, which works appropriately for a movie about strippers, after all. There are a few weak moments on the album, but overall, it sets a mood and sustains it, resulting in a thick, funky contemporary hip-hop record that's thoroughly enjoyable. Stephen Thomas Erlewine
1. Ice Cube - We Be Clubbin
2. Ice Cube ft DMX - We Be Clubbin Remix
3. Ice Cube ft Mr Short Khop - Who Are You Lovin
4. Changing Faces - Same Tempo
5. Kurupt - Under Pressure
6. Master P ft Ice Cube - You Know Im A Ho
7. Pressha - Splackavellie
8. Mack 10 ft Scarface - You Delinquent
9. Jay Z ft Memphis Bleek & Sauce Money - From Marcy To Hollywood
10. Brownstone - Dont Play Me Wrong
11. Mia X - Shake Whatcha Mama Gave Ya (But Make Sho Your Niggas Pay Ya)
12. Public Announcement - What A Woman Feels
13. Rufus Blaq ft Spinderella - Dont Worry (My Shorty)
14. Ice Cube ft Mr Short Khop - My Loved One
15. Mr Dalvin - Get Mine
16. Emmage ft Mr Short Khop & Lil Mo - Dreamin
Click HERE To Download OST

No comments: