December 17, 2008

Keith Sweat - Keep It Comin

Sweat started his musical career as a member of a well known Harlem band called "Jamilah" in 1975. With the help of Jamilah, Sweat was able to hone his craft as a lead singer by performing regionally throughout the Tri-State area of New York, New Jersey and Connecticut. The group was started by Larry Peoples, a talented bass player from 116th Street and Lenox Avenue, Michael Samuels, guitarist out of the Bronx, and drummer Walter Bradley from 125th in Harlem. Additional members of the group included Peter DaCosta, vocals, Joseph McGeachy, sax, Dwight Banks, trumpet and Kenneth Varner, keyboards. On November 25, 1987, Sweat released his debut album Make It Last Forever, which sold three million copies. The biggest hit from this album was "I Want Her" (#1 R&B/#5 Pop), and the title track from the album hit #2 on the R&B charts. Sweat continued to chart fairly well with his second album I'll Give All My Love to You, which hit #6 on the Billboard 200 chart, and Keep It Comin' debuted in the Top 20 of the album chart. It did not sell as well because Keith did not promote the album. The big singles were "(There You Go) Tellin' Me No Again" from New Jack City, "Why Me Baby" (featuring LL Cool J) and the title track. Keith was moving from New York to Atlanta, and he was starting his Keia Records label that would feature Silk & Kut Klose.

01. Keep it Comin' 04:11
02. Spend A Little Time 04:22
03. Why Me Baby? 05:28
04. I Really Love You 03:55
05. Let Me Love You 04:04
06. I Want to Love You Down 05:09
07. I'm Going for Mine 05:01
08. (There You Go) Tellin' Me No.. 05:10
09. Give Me What I Want 05:18
10. Ten Commandments of Love 03:49
11. Keep it Comin' (Smooth Out Version) 05:23

PASSWORD: djtoma


No comments: