December 15, 2008

Wrecks N Effect - Hard Or Smooth

The group, originally comprised of then adolescent; Aqil Davidson, Brandon Mitchell, Markell Riley, and Keith "K.C." Hanns, was formed around 1988 as Wrecks-n-Effect. Their first release, an eponymous EP of six tracks for Atlantic Records, included the singles "Go For What You Know", "Let's Do It Again" (which sampled The Staple Singers hit song), and a self-titled track sampling Jimmy Castor's "Bertha Butt Boogie". They received little promotion from Atlantic however, and, with the help of one-time manager and alleged gangster Gene Griffin, jumped ship for Motown Records. When they released their self-titled debut album the following year, "K.C." had left and the group had become a trio. Wrecks-N-Effect was produced by producer/songwriter Teddy Riley (brother of Markell Riley), and rapper/producer Redhead Kingpin; reached #16 on the Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums chart and #103 on The Billboard Top 200 chart, while its singles "Juicy" and "New Jack Swing" met a similar fate with the exception of "New Jack Swing" becoming a #1 single on the Billboard Rap chart. Tragically, Mitchell was killed in a shooting incident shortly after its release in 1990. The group, now a duo of Aqil Davison and Markell Riley, changed the spelling of their name from Wrecks-n-Effect to Wreckx-n-Effect (the "X" symbolizing the loss of Mitchell) and followed up their first self titled album with 1992's Hard or Smooth on MCA Records. Hard or Smooth fared far better than their debut, selling just under 2 million copies and reaching #9 on the Billboard Top 200 and #6 on the Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums chart.

1. Rump Shaker 5:12
2. New Jack Swing II 4:50
3. Wreckx Shop 4:39
4. Knock-N-Boots 4:51
5. Here We Come 4:27
6. Tell Me How You Feel 4:59
7. My Cutie 4:07
8. Wreckx-N-Effect 3:53
9. Ez Come Ez Go (What Goes Up Must Come Down) 3:44
10. Hard (Short) 2:04
11. Smooth (Short) 2:58

PASSWORD: djtoma


No comments: